Lamborghini Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,152 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Another post got me thinking about my biggest regret and "what if" car story.

I had a chance to buy a P400 Miura in 2000 for $85,000.

In the year 2000 I saw my Jalpa come up for sale locally. I went and saw it and fell in love. I was 27 and doing really well financially. My job was great and I was riding the pre-tech-bubble boom. I had been saving for a couple years with intention of buying a Lamborghini. Countach was the goal and I went to look at the Jalpa to get more informed on what a Countach would be like. I saw the Jalpa and fell in love. I started to call around asking local shops about getting it worked on. They all advised me to look elsewhere and I ended up seeking out the closest Lamborghini expert to Portland OR.

I wound up Calling Al Burtoni's shop in northern California. At the time, his shop was the arguably the top Lamborghini shop in the US. I got on a call with a super friendly woman there and she filled me in on their Jalpa work. "We don't work on the V8s. We specialize in the V12. The V8 is a very different engine."

We bantered back and forth about the Jalpa for a few minutes and then she said.... "If you are thinking about getting an older Lamborghini, we have a Miura here in our showroom for sale. It is a P400, one of the early cars. It is a great driver. Mechanically sound, but not a concourse car. We are asking $85,000 for it. The car is a beautiful metallic midnight blue with a white interior." I had never seen a Miura in person. I was a Countach and Diablo guy. I thanked her for the info and told her I was not interested in the Miura.