Lamborghini Talk banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Heres one mans reaction....worth about 2 cents...just kind of venting here...Im not an engineer nor do I know what constraints were placed on the students, or really what the assignment was in terms of moving away from the old...

HOWEVER, I especially love Espadas and have stared at beautiful (to me anyway) cars for hours and hours, from every possible angle...

and after studying these designs and descriptions, I am almost physically/pit-of-stomach disgusted about them. Its one thing to do a study for a blank-slate car, but if the idea was to recreate the feeling of the Espada...what a huge responsibility and an honor...what a disappointment...I cant even understand how they could all go so WRONG...

so the question to me naturally becomes, "well smarty-pants, explain how YOU would go about it..."

My (not a professional designer or engineer/so naturally naive) answer?

well, I would start by taking a hard look at an Espada. For a few days maybe. I would shine lights on it, I would drive it, most importantly, I would have it driven by me very fast. I would watch it corner, I would follow it for a few hours. I would stare at it at daybreak, and then again at dusk. I would look at every line and crease and duct and reflection. I would measure the relationships between design elements....I would seriously try to spend enough time with the car that I could 'feel it', so that when I put pen to paper I would know that an evolved Espada would come out, not just a drawing with a Lamborghini badge...