Lamborghini Talk banner

Salvage Murci Rebuild

7K views 48 replies 20 participants last post by  Lambo2018 
#1 ·
Hi Guys!

I guess it's about time that I start up a thread on my Murci rebuild. The car is a 2006 e-gear that I purchased from salvage auction a few months ago.

Just throwing it out right off the bat- I'm a mechanical engineer and a wannabe mechanic. I'm decently mechanically inclined, but definitely have lots to learn when it comes to wrenching. I spent my college years building Formula SAE cars (I was suspension lead and team captain), so I have a decent idea of the basic principles but that's about it. FSAE cars are pretty basic compared to road cars. That said, I can make just about anything given access to a mill/lathe/autoclave.

My plan is to do as much of the rebuild work myself as possible. I got ahold of the LP640 service manual, but there are definitely spots where it leaves questions unanswered- and that's where I am hoping you guys can come in.

So as it stands right now, I am still in the process of tearing everything down to find what all I am going to need and getting stuff on order. I don't expect this project to be quick or easy, but I think it will be a lot of fun and hope you guys will enjoy the ride along with me. I'll throw in some pictures of the car as she sits tonight, and will start updating as I run into questions.
Vehicle Car Automotive exterior Bumper City car
Land vehicle Vehicle Car Supercar Collision
Land vehicle Vehicle Car Supercar Lamborghini

See less See more
#3 ·
As that is probably my old car, I’ll help where I can. Been out of the loop for a while. Back on the scene. You are, extremely, brave. Insurance Co told me there was 200k worth of damage. I’d be really interested in how much you are able to do the repair.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#5 · (Edited)