Lamborghini Talk banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Premium Member
2022 Huracan EVO RWD
8,600 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the Sports car world and have come to some conclusions’ about PPFs that now influence my decision tree about their value and also the amount of coverage that is appropriate or more precisely, that I deem necessary.
I have had 6 Sports cars over the past 4 years and have PPFed five of the cars (one already was protected) and I have spent ~20K for said “protection”. In all cases, I used and preferred the clarity of Suntek Ultra but, notwithstanding the clarity, it is nonetheless grossly deficient in its barrier properties. Invariably, within a few hundred miles I have experienced a through and through perforations which are far more unsightly than a chips would be when addressed with touchup paint and a DA polisher.

Conclusions’, however misguided:
  • Suntek Ultra is not PPF I will chose going forward, XPEL probably or whatever PPF at that point in time is touted as having better barrier properties
  • Full coverage is extreme overkill
  • I will modify, that is, decrease, the level of partial coverage too front bumper and rockers and call it a day. Formerly, I would do the entire front clip, backs of mirrors and rockers
Other observations:
  • The PPF diminishes the paint shine and luster so, in my opinion, less is truly more
  • The self-healing claim is a joke because the real weak link in the chain are perforations and they don’t heal and are infinity more concerning and unsightly than a few scratches in the PPF
  • the 10 year warranty is as useless as tits on a Bull..........no pun intended, well, maybe a little bit.

Exceptions:
  • If you’re a track fanatic a case could be made for full coverage but NOT full coverage with Suntek Ultra………trust me on this one.
  • If you imagine your Sports car/Lamborghini is a holy relic and then it may pay by virtue of the peace of mind it bestows.

·
Premium Member
1,007 Posts