Lamborghini Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I’ve been searching for an LP640 for some time now and last week I was on a family vacation in an area where one of the cars I was considering was located. I took the opportunity to see the car in person and take a test drive. Now I’ve driven a friends murci before but it’s an 03 gated car and it’s been a few years so I have no experience with the egear system in any Murci. So basically I have nothing to compare my experience with. I’m not sure what noises or feelings are normal when driving an LP640.
So what I am asking is what should I be looking for specifically when I am test driving and inspecting the car?
The car I drove seemed to be in ok shape. I drove the car in various modes and speeds and noticed the egear system was very rough, clunky and jerky during shifts and the car seemed to cut the power a lot during shifts even tho I never lifted off the throttle. Is this
Normal??
Also when the car was idling I gave it a couple of quick stabs at the gas to rev it and it seemed to rev kinda slow. I heard the throttle bodies open and the suction of air but the engine didn’t seem to rev very fast. I seem to remember my friends gated 03 to rev a little quicker while in neutral. During the drive the car felt like it had a lot of power and sounded good. But the shifts concerned me. I also noticed some clunking noises from the steering or/and front suspension and the steering felt very heavy during slow moving maneuvers like parking or doing a K turn. Almost like the car didn’t have power steering. Is this normal?
Finally going over bumps caused a lot of rattle and rumbling sounds from the suspension. I did a K turn in the dealer parking lot and I noticed some clunking noises when going from 1st to reverse and back to 1st again, which could have been from the gearbox or the front end. I couldn’t tell.