Lamborghini Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im relatively new to the car world, so i was wondering why is it that a V10 TT engine in a Gallardo ( stock 560 HP ) has up to 1500 WHP, bot a V12 TT Murcielago (stock 640 HP ) can only go up to 1200 WHP?

·
Premium Member
10,242 Posts

·
Registered
2,009 Posts
I would go with Gvan's response ;) Just saying.

I actually learned something new from this thread :) I never understood that either. Can you explain somewhat specifically what goes into making the G's V10 able to take more punishment?

·
Premium Member
10,242 Posts
I'm not ultra familiar with either the V12 internals, or the turbo setup Heffner and UGR are using. At 300HP/L on their 1500HP cars that is some pretty significant turbocharging. Even 200HP/L is a lot.

Also, I think on their very high HP Gallardo engines there's been a LOT of changes to the engine internals, possibly more than on the rarer Murcielago turbo jobs. The G's engine is also a very modern design with head co-developed by Cosworth, whereas the V12 has essentially been around for decades.

I'm just speculating here, there are loads of factors. [email protected] or one of the UGR guys probably has way more insight. One of my favourite examples is the old 1.8T turbo Audi engines. The first few years they made these they just recycled the cast-iron block from their 1.9TDi engines. These could be boosted to 650+HP. A few years later they started using lightweight aluminium blocks the safe limit was around 350hp. Those cast iron blocks were designed for 25:1 diesel compression ratios so they were tough as hell.

100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

·
Registered
107 Posts
Could also simply come down to R&D.. How many TT G's are running around compared to TT Murci's? Tuners with more G builds are fine tuning their products....
Just one more variable to consider......

·
Premium Member