Lamborghini Talk banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Super-noob here. Just picked up a low-miles (8K) 2004 Gallardo and figured I'd fill 'er up with the good stuff on the way home. Hrm....I see the switch on the console that obviously is intended to open the fuel door, but it does nothing. Weather was crappy and I didn't want to spend a lot of time fiddling in the rain (yes, had to drive it home in the rain.....%^&*), but I'll check fuses in the AM. If NOT that, any suggestions on how else I can get that door open without a crowbar and a hammer so I can feed my baby? Any help genuinely appreciated! Great forum!

·
Premium Member
10,242 Posts
Super-noob here. Just picked up a low-miles (8K) 2004 Gallardo and figured I'd fill 'er up with the good stuff on the way home. Hrm....I see the switch on the console that obviously is intended to open the fuel door, but it does nothing. Weather was crappy and I didn't want to spend a lot of time fiddling in the rain (yes, had to drive it home in the rain.....%^&*), but I'll check fuses in the AM. If NOT that, any suggestions on how else I can get that door open without a crowbar and a hammer so I can feed my baby? Any help genuinely appreciated! Great forum!
Hehehe. EVERYONE runs into this one. :)

You have to turn the ignition completely off first THEN press the button. Otherwise it won't let you open it. You'll hear it open.

·
Registered
1,438 Posts
There is also an emergency (manual) release located on the passenger side, in the engine bay. It is an orange color lanyard.:)

·
Premium Member
10,242 Posts
NOT me...lambo salesguy made sure i knew about it before driving 360 miles back to LA :D
I saw Jeremy Clarkson have an issue with it on an episode of Top Gear so I made sure to check how to do it before the first fill-up :)