Lamborghini Talk banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi.
I am new to thsi forum. I am from Malta and I do not own a Gallardo but am a keem enthusiast. A friend of mine has just bought a brand new Gallardo and just after 2700km he is already experiencing slip from his clutch as well as unpleasant smell. Is this normal? The car was never raced just driven form Germany to Malta.

I assume that thsi is covered by teh warranty right?

Regards

G

·
clutch wear

Clutch wear is DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE DRIVER. No amount of BS'ing or whatevery anyone wants to say, clutches DO NOT wear out and start slipping on their own. If the clutch worked fine when the car was new and for several thousand miles, then your friend can look at his right foot and left foot for the problem. If I were Lamborghini, I would tell people with worn out clutches in a few thousand miles, to pay up. All Lamborghini has to start doing is examining the disk, plate and flywheel, to determine the problem. If they start doing that, lots of owners are going to have to start paying for new clutches. It is VERY easy to look at a clutch/flywheel under a magnifing glass and most of the time not even that, to see what caused the damage. I get really tired of reading about people with a worn out clutch and blaming Lamborghini, when the problem was caused by them showing off. If you want a race car or drive your car like a race car, then you will have to pay for new clutches.
Chadbourn Bolles
803 798 3044

·
Registered
299 Posts
Chad, well said - in 5 years I put on 261,000 km on my last 5 series BMW (E46) and sold it with the original clutch. You can't expect to take off with a 1,700 Kg car side stepping the clutch if you floor the accelerator after the clutch has disengaged - you resolved 95% of your wear problems IMO. I have no issues with the Countach either - put 60,000 km on the urraco with a clutch - E 30 M3 100,000+ km - the list goes on....

·
Registered
1,462 Posts