Lamborghini Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m new to the exotic car scene after a lifetime of muscle cars. Looking into a Gallardo as a future purchase. A pre-LP seems to be the popular choice, and I see a lot available. They seem to be around 20k-ish mile wise and anywhere from $90-120k. My questions are about cost as you might expect. How much life does the engine/clutch/trans have in them? It seems the higher the mileage the lower the car value because the need for rebuilds/parts is ahead. What’s a basic engine rebuild run? Assuming it hasn’t been beaten on too much that is. Any help here would be greatly appreciated!

·
Premium Member
2021 Huracan EVO RWD Spyder Verde Themis
16,860 Posts
I’m not sure what a rebuild would cost, but in a Pre LP the clutch life is all over the place. If you know how to treat it you can extend the life considerably. The average can be anywhere between 8k to 16k. Some have done better and other worse. Reverse eats clutch life the worst. You really need to be aware of how often you’re slipping the clutch to keep it alive.

·
Registered
3,826 Posts
Agreed, but eventually a rebuild will be needed as I was planning on keeping the car and driving it frequently.
Talking to a factory trained tech if you don't live on the redline the engine will go many miles over 100k. I seem to remember someone on the forum with maybe around 150k and going strong.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Talking to a factory trained tech if you don't live on the redline the engine will go many miles over 100k. I seem to remember someone on the forum with maybe around 150k and going strong.
Appreciate that information. I’ve heard they had a pretty strong engine, but I’ve no experience with one.

·
Registered
3,826 Posts
Appreciate that information. I’ve heard they had a pretty strong engine, but I’ve no experience with one.