Lamborghini Talk banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2011 LP560-4 Spyder / Blu Fontus
448 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Instant Gratification, it's the way the world rolls. You want it now, it's so hard to resist those urges, temptations. You have a normal job, you buy normal cars, but you're a car enthusiast/motorhead. That's me, but so much of a motorhead that I became an Auto Tech by trade. I dreamed, but never anticipated, ever owning one of these cars. Mustangs and M3's were my Forte. In 2011 I sold an M3 for a nice downpayment on my (dream car) a Beautiful 12k mile Porsche 997 C2S. I paid that off in 2015 and wasn't ready to sell it so I bought another M 'daily driver'. Paid that off last year and came to the realization that I had two nice cars and the Porsche (now still only 24K miles) had gone back up in value! Sell both and there's a nice 80k downpayment (sold the 911 for $54k).....I inadvertently took the 10yr plan. Could I have saved that amount over those years? Not a chance, I know my patterns well enough to admit that as a fantasy. If you already own something nice, don't sell it or trade it in. Buy something else nice that is not likely to depreciate much (you need to make a smart decision here) and take the 5yr plan.... or less if you'd good at paying things off quick.
The Point is, YOU ONLY LIVE ONCE, YOU CAN'T TAKE THEM WITH YOU, AND YOU'VE GOT TO START SOMEWHERE if you know your bank account is always limited. The Porsche WAS my dream car, it was as exotic as I thought I would ever aspire to. I was happy with it for 10 years, but was getting bored the last few. Now suddenly found myself in a position where selling it (and the other) could put me into a Lamborghini ??!! You want to shoot for the stars but you've got to get to the moon first. Set realistic goals and work your way there.