homeFORUMSGARAGECALENDARADSSTAFFINFO
Go Back   Lamborghini Forum > Discussion Groups > General Lamborghini Related Discussion
Register for FREE Access! Home Forum Premium Member Active Topics Gallery / Garage Mark Forums Read

General Lamborghini Related Discussion For General Lambo Topics



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2005, 06:51 PM
SI LAMBO's Avatar
Silver Supporter
Silver Site Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 15 2004
Posts: 868
Gallery: 0
Default Another Scam On Ebay

Anyone know of any scam on ebay for these wheels?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...RK%3AMEWN%3AIT

I seem to think that these were on several previous auctions. The pictures look very familiar.

I won them for $2700, which is very low. The auction stated the item was in the US - Las Vegas, but when I wanted to pick them up (because I was in Las Vegas on vacation) the guy told me they were in Europe. He said that he is selling them for his brother in Manchester. I get a good feeling that this is a scam.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2005, 07:32 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 10 2005
Location: Northwest
Posts: 193
Gallery: 0
Default

Why would you want those rims? they are UGLY.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2005, 08:16 PM
supersportrc's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 22 1972
Location: MA,NH
Posts: 30
Gallery: 0
Default

"0" feedback - high ticket item not good
He doesnt even have the rims - very not good
Private auction - real Bad
i wouldn't doubt that the other bids could be fake to raise the price for this scam.
Don't send this crook $1, its a total scam
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2005, 11:38 PM
raymond's Avatar
Moderator
Gold Site Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 30 2004
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,443
Gallery: 0
Default

I believe this is a scam because I recognize the floor of my friends garage here in Switzerland.
The seller is not serious, he writes "item location USA", well it's not therefore report this to ebay!
__________________
RaymondQV
Countach QV Ex-Mimran #GLA12997, Urraco P300 #20530 sold in August 2008, Jalpa #FLA12203 sold in May 2006
www.countach.ch
www.jalpa.ch

When Frank Sinatra got his Miura S in 1970, he said: “If you wanna be someone, buy Ferrari - If you are someone, you own a Lamborghini”.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2005, 04:32 AM
fl_355's Avatar
Silver Supporter
Silver Site Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 29 2004
Location: Ft Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 605
Gallery: 0
Default

Thanks for the heads up. BTW if u want murci wheels I may have a bargin, my mechanic is doing a camerea + new rims on a 05 Roadster. I can find out what the guy wants for the old rims and pm u.

I make it a policy never to buy anthing over $100 on ebay. Stuff like a key chain or something is OK, but way too many scams...

Raymond - you recongnize the floor! Too funny. I guess the "S" in your profile name is for "Sherlock", as in Holmes - nice going.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2005, 08:42 AM
SI LAMBO's Avatar
Silver Supporter
Silver Site Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 15 2004
Posts: 868
Gallery: 0
Default

I have no intention of giving this guy any money. I've been playing with him for several weeks now. His last communication with me suggested to use www.escrow.com for the transaction.

Looks like a safe place until they start asking for you bank account numbers.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2005, 07:34 PM
supersportrc's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 22 1972
Location: MA,NH
Posts: 30
Gallery: 0
Default

there is good informaton here: http://www.SOS4auctions.com


From: http://msnbc.msn.com/id/3078510

"But there are some obvious signs of trouble. Consumers should never buy or sell items to a consumer who insists on using a specific escrow service. Propose an alternative — if that disturbs the other party, they are almost certainly con artists.

If the escrow service and the seller appear to be working closely together, that’s also a bad sign. One victim MSNBC spoke to got instructions on how to send money to the escrow company from the seller’s e-mail address, for example.

And wiring money to a bank outside the country is always a bad idea, experts say."


also more :Bait and Switch

How the scam works:

Both parties agree to use Escrow.com. One party then tries to start the transaction on a fraudulent site, claiming that the site is an affiliate of Escrow.com.

Protection:

Always go directly to Escrow.com. Do not believe claims that another escrow site is related to Escrow.com. Never do business with an individual that has recommended a fraudulent site.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2005, 11:41 PM
raymond's Avatar
Moderator
Gold Site Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 30 2004
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,443
Gallery: 0
Default

I asked my friend about the wheels, funny enough he has the same floor but the auction he made had other pictures.

Anyway it's not inspiring confidence when a seller in USA tries to sell goods which are in UK and is not telling this in the auction.

The price respectively the limit was very not to say too low for a set of Murci wheels.
__________________
RaymondQV
Countach QV Ex-Mimran #GLA12997, Urraco P300 #20530 sold in August 2008, Jalpa #FLA12203 sold in May 2006
www.countach.ch
www.jalpa.ch

When Frank Sinatra got his Miura S in 1970, he said: “If you wanna be someone, buy Ferrari - If you are someone, you own a Lamborghini”.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2005, 05:58 PM
SI LAMBO's Avatar
Silver Supporter
Silver Site Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 15 2004
Posts: 868
Gallery: 0
Default

I'm glad to know that it wasn't your friend Raymond...however, it is a nice floor, marble I think.

I sure this was a scam because the last email I sent, I asked if I could see the wheels and pay cash no matter where they were in the world, and also asked if he moved them to China this time. I haven't heard anything for about a week.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2005, 09:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 06 2005
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 305
Gallery: 0
Default

SI-
If its the origional Murci rims your looking for, I might have a seller for you.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

  Lamborghini Forum > Discussion Groups > General Lamborghini Related Discussion



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -6.
The time now is 01:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0
Content (c)2007 Lamborghini-Talk.com
Lamborghini-Talk.com is not affilliated with Automobili Lamborghini spa.
  • AutoForums.com
  • Truck
  • European
  • Import
  • Domestic
  • Manufacturer

AutoForums.com is the premier network of enthusiast-owned enthusiast-operated automotive communities.
We operate more than 100 automotive forums where our users consult peers for shopping information and advice, and share experiences and opinions as a community.

Visit AutoForums.com today.

For advertising information, please visit our AutoForums.com website and Contact Us, or send an email message to sales@autoforums.com.